Skip to main content

EDS in the News


Professor Amanda Datnow is one of eighteeen education leaders and scholars elected to the National Academy of Education.  The National Academy of Education advances high quality education research and its use in policy and practice. The Academy consists of U.S. members and international associates who are elected based on outstanding scholarship or leadership related to education. Nominations are submitted by individual Academy members once a year for review and election by the organization’s membership. In addition to serving on expert study panels that address pressing
issues in education, members are also deeply engaged in the Academy’s professional development fellowship programs.

Luz Chung, Cheryl Forbes, and Tricia Gallagher-Geurtsen recently got their article, Building comfort and pride and the borderlands of Spanish and English: A comparative case-study of three heritage language teachers’ raciolinguistic identities in an after school heritage language club, published in The Spanish as a Heritage Language Journal. 

William T. Grant Scholars Class of 2027

Theresa Stewart-Ambo of Education Studies is one of five early-career researchers selected for the William T. Grant Scholars Class of 2027. The program “supports the professional development of promising researchers in the social, behavioral and health sciences who have received their terminal degrees within the past seven years.” Stewart-Ambo’s five-year research project will explore the relationship between the educational outcomes of American Indian youth and Native nation-building and how higher education can fortify Indigenous futures.


Indigenous Futures Institute Receives Grant from Lumina Foundation

An innovative, interdisciplinary community-action research incubator at UC San Diego is now further empowered to continue its work in educational, scientific and environmental co-design with Indigenous peoples. The Indigenous Futures Institute (IFI) has received a $400,000 grant from Lumina Foundation’s Racial Justice and Equity Fund. Theresa Stewart Ambo (Tongva/Luiseño) of Education Studies co-founded the IFI with Keolu Fox (Kānaka Maoli) of Anthropology and Wayne Yang of Ethnic Studies, who is also provost of Muir.V